Poets logo

Goodbye Dad

I wrote this for my dad when my brother died. I had no idea my dad would follow behind him so quickly...

By Cassey AguiarPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
15

Hey Dad it’s OK you know we all have our time.
I know it sucks and I miss you too, but God said that it was mine.

I know I’m missed like hell by all of my family and friends.
But I will be watching over all of you until we meet again.

I need you to be strong, take care of my sister’s the kids and mom.
They need you right now just like you need them.
I know it’s hard to believe, but in time your hearts will mend.

Stop blaming yourself, searching for a reason you will not find.
Don’t think that God gave me to you and then he changed his mind.

You see he thinks I’m special he needs me up above.
Don’t think that He is punishing you because your not worthy of his love.

I don’t want you feeling guilty, I can’t imagine your despair.
So focus on all the good things, the wonderful life that we have shared.

You cannot grieve forever and I would never want you to.
I want you to pick up the pieces and carry on like you always do.

You taught me how to fix things, showed me integrity is what makes a man.
I hope I’ve made you proud of me but this wasn’t a part of your plan.

Share my memories, embrace my presence, because I am and will always be there.
I’m sure you may have some doubts but I hope you can find comfort through prayer.

When it gets too hard, and life seems unbearable as I’m pretty sure it will…
Just remember that I was doing what I loved and the joy it made me feel.

Dad you were my hero, you showed me everything I know.
I know how much it saddens you but it’s time to let me go.

Keep my memory alive and we will never be apart.
If I had just one wish it would certainly be too mend your broken heart…



heartbreak
15

About the Creator

Cassey Aguiar

Hello fellow creators! My name is Cassey and I've always enjoyed writing! I never thought I was really that good, buy Vocal has played a very important role on my road to becoming a writer. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.