Poets logo

Good wife

Is there a formula for being a good wife?

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

Always put him first but never at your expense

Explain yourself without defaulting to defense

Chase away the ghosts haunting him in the night

Shimmer for him but never let him dim your light

********************

Give him an umbrella when his wrath rains down.

Build yourself a lifeboat so your heart won’t drown.

Let him roll his thunder and wash away life’s sins

After the storm, you can return to where it begins

********************

Wake up in the morning and tell him he’s the best

Touch him, so he knows he’s different from the rest

Kiss him before bed, so serene dreams visit his sleep

He will drift off, knowing it’s his heart that you keep

********************

Every Jack and Jill will sell you a formula to being a good wife

Follow your arrow. After all, you’re the only one living your life.

© Britt Blomster 2022

This poem is the second in my series, where I title each poem after a track listing from Kacey Musgraves’s star-crossed album. I’m looking forward to sharing my creative challenge with my readers. Thank you for the support!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.