Poets logo

Good Boy

A matter of perspective

By Christy MunsonPublished 2 months ago โ€ข Updated 2 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
8
Good Boy
Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

Howl. Go on!

Howl all you want.

The moon knows your scent and thinks your barking is lunacy.

Did you say something?

I'm sorry. I don't understand you.

No, I'm not mad. Don't think I'm mad.

Yes, of course I've tied you up and penned you.

But it's for your own good.

Kick. Bite. Run in circles.

Like I said, howl!

No one else is coming. No one can hear you.

You can make all the noise you want.

I saved you.

I did that for you.

But you're right. I think maybe you saved me too.

A little thanks, is that too much to ask?

And yet, look how you whimper in the corner!

Why shy away from me?

You should be thanking me, for bringing you here.

For keeping you. All to myself.

All these playthings --blank eyes, dull faces, silent mouths-- they're yours.

I brought them here, for you.

Do with them what you will.

Tear into them.

Drag them from place to place.

Drool all over them. Sink in those canines.

I won't judge.

Follow your impulses.

I see it in your eyes: you're like a dog with a bone.

All I ask, at the end of the day, is that you save some of that energy for me.

I want you to choose me.

Is it too much, to want you to want to sit on my lap?

Come on. Now, don't give me that look, mister.

You're cute. But you know that, don't you?

I bet you do.

I will place myself in harm's way for you. But I won't let you out my my grasp.

I will keep it locked. The door.

You know that, of course.

I always keep it locked. Can't be too careful.

You might try to run away.

***

Copyright ยฉ 03/04/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

***

Hope you enjoyed my second entry in ๐‘๐Œ ๐’๐ญ๐จ๐œ๐ค๐ญ๐จ๐ง's ๐Œ๐š๐ซ๐œ๐ก ๐–๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž ๐‚๐ฅ๐ฎ๐› ๐๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฉ๐ญ (๐”๐ง๐จ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐ข๐œ๐ข๐š๐ฅ ๐‚๐ก๐š๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ž๐ง๐ ๐ž), March Madness.

I have been so inspired by this prompt, I simply had to write a second piece!

Want to read my first entry, check it out here: The Butcher's Daughter.

performance poetryMental Healthfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
8

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: ๐Ÿฅณ

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Ooh. Excellent job. Oh, and you're a wee bit scary! lol

  • At first blush, this is a story about the cruelty we subject our "pets" to (in the name of 'love'), but I think this may be even more sinister. This 'pet' is not necessarily a dog, is it? Yikes!

  • Oooo, this would make a really good psychological thriller movie! Loved this so much!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    The unspoken darkness in this poem is palpable. The line, youโ€™re like a dog with a bone is especially disturbing since it implies that the โ€œgood boyโ€ is something or someone else entirely. Really well done. Top Story quality!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.