Poets logo

Goobers

A poem for the snack sonata challenge

By Natasha CollazoPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read

Friday nights were for the big screens,

hand in hand with the only man of my dreams;

my Dad.

*

My siblings and I would all pick one snack,

my dad and I were chocolate Goobers,

and it was always the same, every time it came down to sugar.

*

Even trips to Block Buster where we could find the candy aisle,

It was always Goobers, Goobers, Goobers, at the top of the pile.

*

He would open the box, and fill the popcorn bag,

so my tiny hands could get a mix of sweet and salty,

with a large slippery grab.

*

Milk chocolate and a peanut crunch,

together we were two peas in a pod,

and our family was the Hispanic Brady Bunch.

*

Always cracking jokes, brushing his sleek black hair,

you'd find this brown man always dancing in his underwear.

If you knew my Dad, he was the epitome of "Latino Dad humor"

And even though I LOVED this candy, he was my favorite kind of Goober.

Just a Bunch of Goobers

Photo of my Dad, me in the middle (obvi), and my Uncle Willie.

vintagehumorGratitudeFamilychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism NYU **

Student @ American Writers & Artists Institute

Project: The diary of an emo Latina (2025)

Content and freelance creator

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Awww, that photo is soooo adorable! Also, I don't think I've had Goobers before. Loved your poem!

  • The best kind of goober to know & have. Loved every bit of this, Natasha. I even liked Goobers, lol!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    This is awesome, Natasha!!!

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Great piece! You paint your scenes so clearly! Loved the last line!

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Love this.

  • Skyler Saunders4 months ago

    To use the sweets as touchstone for a loving relationship with one's father shows the power of this poem. Clever and emotional, this work brings to mind images and tastes of childhood and for the greatness of a wonderful father.

  • so sweet :)

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    I love goobers! Awesome !

Natasha CollazoWritten by Natasha Collazo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.