Poets logo

"GLENDA'S GARDEN"

-A POEM FOR MY LATE FRIEND-

By Chris M RichardsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
PHOTO BY M RICHARDS 2021. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

“Glenda’s Garden.”

-A Poem for My Late Fiend-

By Christina M Richards

A garden once grew up there,

Behind the gum tree canopy. 

A lot of people were not aware.

Glenda’s garden was a lovely inspiring sight,

She grew a Jacaranda, ferns, and a few flowers, bright.

To view it was a true delight.

Glenda always share da smoke with me,

One day when others would not, she gave me change to get the bus to the hospital,

I’ll never forget it; I could now start the O.T.P.*

Then one day nearly 18 months ago,

She fell ill and passed away the next morning.

But on her balcony, her garden continued to grow.

Every day I would stare,

Getting my inspiration from her plants.

With gratitude and love for her care.

As her life was boxed away,

And the garden was removed.

I shed tears when I noticed it was gone taken away . 

Even now when I lookup to see,

The empty barren landing,

I still think of She.  

It also gives me joy know your dog’s are with you,

How could they not follow,

They need to be where you are, with you. 

I imagine now as I walk in the sun,

What garden has she grown and begun, wherever she went.

I hope that after my time here is over that I meet her and see what her garden has become. 

Thanks Glenda, Rest In Peace my dear friend.   

*O. T. P is short for the Opiate Treatment Program. I did catch the bus to the doctors that afternoon and I am happy today because of Glenda’s change. I have now been clean from heroin and opiate pain killers for two years now. I was literally dying, and her change honestly saved my life!

8 is short for the Opiate Treatment Program. I did catch the bus to the doctors that afternoon and I am happy tosay because of Glenda’s change. I have now been clean from heroin and opiate pain killers for two years now. I was literally dying, and her change helped to save my life!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Chris M Richards

I have always loved to write. Also I have always loved sex. I’m gay so I’m talkinging about male on male action.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.