Poets logo

Glacial Mortality

Frigid Destruction

By Tonya NewmanPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2

Sometimes when I’m driving in a snowstorm it reminds me of you. My heart sinks, my chest gets tight, I wonder if you knew.

Were you in pain or at a certain point does everything go numb? Did you pray to be rescued or so tired of weathering the storm you were willing to succumb?

We couldn’t have known that day would be your last. That your entire existence would become nothing but the past.

How does it feel looking down now from above? Do you remember the life you lived and the people that you loved?

Did God give you any answers? did he tell you why? Why so many others live, but you had to die?

Is there a grand plan at play, did this happen by design? If there’s a reason for it all can you send a sign?

A sign that life’s worth living, that it isn’t all in vain. That in the end there is a purpose for the pain.

I think it might be helpful to some people that I know, show us there’s a bright side to the darkness and the cold.

I’ll keep my eyes drawn skyward and this faith inside my heart, faith that things happen for a reason and there’s light inside the dark.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Tonya Newman

Just an island girl who loves adventure. Trying to live my best life in this messed up, beautiful world. And writing along the way...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    My heart breaks over this. Such plaintive questions, musings without any answers other than hope & keeping their memory alive.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.