Poets logo

Give me more to love

A love poem, held back

By Hannah MoorePublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
12
Give me more to love
Photo by Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

You tell me love is best in even twos.

Two each of chin, gut, neck and nose.

Four arms, four legs, four eyes, four lips.

Four ears, four feet, and four big toes.

Even the word is just four long.

And when you hold me to four, or less,

I can love only here and now,

I will not kill the love with “ed”,

Or push it away with “R”.

-

But give me five to tell my love

And I can take the hole at your core

And with “W” pour you brim full.

Each word we send out over the gulf,

Lone on our side, full of hope to fly over,

With an “L” will spew lava

And grow in time into rich land

And we will seed our Eden.

For us to be us, not you and me.

-

With only four, I miss “u”,

But that tiny bit more may turn your gaze,

To cup the hurt you try to hide,

Or take that moth that does not rest

Kiss your warm, soft lips

And hear your mind grow calm.

And to the dark days’ cold,

Open the hope of what is yet to come,

The fire of what may yet be done.

-

I add “u” also when I feel fond

And the hide and seek is over.

With “u” what was once a bond,

Now ties us, palm to palm, held fast.

Love is not bare, but kind and bold,

And my soul will not let pass,

The ruse to cast real love as meek,

Thus with one keen and glee full “e”

The leap of the hart is now a beat

love poems
12

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Back to reread and just wow, Hannah. Just incredible. This is one of my favorite poems ever, I think. 💖🤯

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I love how you play around with words here, and you pack such a punch with short, simple words all the way through 😁

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Very thoughtful use of words ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    WOW! This piece is stunning! You're definitely a contender for winning the 4 words or less challenge! I love the soulful depth that you displayed in this piece! Awesome work!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    That was a very interesting poem, Hannah! Clever use of words too!

  • Poppy's right, Hannah. This is incredibly clever, working in five letter words while using only four & compounding the meaning in each line.

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Hey, just letting you know I shared this poem in my latest story: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences-pt2

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This was amazingly creative and beautiful. Definitely deserved to place in the challenge!

  • I gotta agree with Mackenzie! Your word play and letter play was soooooo brilliant! I was so mesmerised reading this!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Oh my goodness, I love this so much. The word play here, or more specifically, the letter play, is fantastically done. I can love only here and now, I will not kill the love with “ed”, Or push it away with “R”. This is amazing. And it just kept getting better, ending with my favorite line, I think (I'd been ruminating for days on how to use "hart" to match "heart" in some poetic way): "The leap of the hart is now a beat." Your rhymes are great, and I love the underlying sentiment of this poem, such a beautiful love you evoke here. I feel like I'm not doing it justice with this reply. I could unpack it for many more paragraphs. ❤️👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.