Poets logo

Give Me

Please

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Heart (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

Give me a reason why

I shouldn't blow up

My life again for

What I think of

As love.

Tell me it wasn't

All a dream, that week

That changed me

Fundamentally

(And keeps changing

and changing me).

I feel so lost,

Alone…

I read into

Every breath and

Silence,

I think you've grown

Bored of me

Because you didn't

Say anything for a few

Hours.

I'm probably blowing

Things out of proportion

(Like I ALWAYS do)

But I want so badly

For so many things.

I want to live with you,

I want to be a part

Of your family,

I want to see you

Every day,

Talk to you,

Know you better

Than I know

My own self,

But I know myself…

I would throw myself

Into you, lose the

Person I'm finally becoming

In favor of anything

You might want from me,

Ignore my own needs

And forget me entirely;

And when I come up for air,

See the damage I've done

I'll have to pick up the

Pieces and start over

Again from nothing.

I can't keep

Doing this to

Myself, attaching to

A person, falling madly

Into a place

Where I know no one

And nothing

And I end up alone

Again

And

Again

And

I

Am trying

To let go of old

Habits, to hold myself

Up first, trying

To be a person of

S u b s t a n c e

So maybe, just maybe

I can be someone

Worthwhile,

Not for someone else

But for me

Specifically…

but, oh God,

how

my

stupid

heart

wants.

love poems

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Such deep pain and injured hope; you have true skill in rendering it, if it's any consolation. Bravo.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    So sad, yet so relatable. Beautiful in a melancholy way ❤️

Bex JordanWritten by Bex Jordan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.