Poets logo

Girl of Gold, Truth Be Told

Poem for Myself

By Mary DevlinPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Supermodel Jean Shrimpton, circa 1960s

As I sit here damp with tears

I attempt to throw away my fears

I set my sights on a girl of gold

The girl I'd like to be before I'm old

I hope this girl stops you dead

I hope this girl will not be your friend

I hope that she can hold me back

When I try to find you again

This girl of gold will hold my soul

Cradle it as I cry, dry my face till it's soft

She is good to me because she knows my worth

She knows of my destiny here on Earth

I hope this girl stops you dead

I hope this girl will not be your friend

I hope that she can hold me back

When I try to find you again

I grab the hands of this girl

In an attempt to hold some of her power

My life feels but a minute, hers an hour

But she tells me the power is all mine

Now I sit here in my pile of fool's gold

Waiting for it to become real like hers

The moon reflects a milky light onto my skin

I see it sparkling

The gold is coming

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mary Devlin

Hey there guys! The name's Mare, I'm a vintage/history enthusiast who is currently on the journey of a lifetime otherwise known as "Your Twenties". Currently living in South Jersey, figuring it all out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.