Poets logo

Crashing Down

A Poem About Nothing, Really

By Mary DevlinPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Philadelphia, Circa February 2015

Hold my hand over a flameAnd tell me when to pull awayI'm nothing without your guiding voiceYou make me feel like loving you isn't a choice

So far have I fallen for youTell me, did it work for you, too?Sometimes photos with you smell like blue smokeAnd I'm just expected to forget, to cover up the holeFrom the bleeding heart you took

Come crashing down, all aroundMy heart was mine to giveNow it's yours to holdA heavy burdenOr so I've been told

Keep your quick cash in the bagIt's nothing to my overflowing stashOf notes from my empty admirers Never-mind my sideways glancesI have given you one too many chances

Pack up the car and get on goneThere's no rhyme or reason to the songYou sang for me when you lfetIt's vacant like your eyes wereThe night I told you that you were my sky

Come crashing down, all aroundMy heart was mine to giveNow it's yours to holdA heavy burdenOr so I've been told

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mary Devlin

Hey there guys! The name's Mare, I'm a vintage/history enthusiast who is currently on the journey of a lifetime otherwise known as "Your Twenties". Currently living in South Jersey, figuring it all out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.