Poets logo

Gift of Growth

Setting myself free

By M.M. Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gift of Growth
Photo by Bosen Yan on Unsplash

Time is the thing I cannot seem to beat

Dripping slowly around me

The changes almost imperceptible

Room filling with tears I refuse to shed

Building to that all too familiar crescendo

Water level reaching my neck

In my stubbornness

Ignoring every opportunity for release

Fearing my own tear stained cheeks

Disappointment my oldest friend

Only now

Allowing my eyes to look upwards

As the waters overtake me

I do not fight

Do not swim

Sinking to the floor

I sit at peace

Taking the pain all around me

In

For the greatest truth prevails

I have not been forgotten

Abandoned

Left without wind in my sails

Casting my eyes upwards once more

I look upon the faces of my friends

The ones whose love does not hurt

But heals

Waiting patiently for me to choose

To swim up once again

So to this tear filled room

I bow my head

Not in defeat as I once had

But in acknowledgement

Honoring tears shed

I will not be defined

Nor controlled

Will not wait to be rescued

Nurtured

Fed

For time has given the greatest gift

My codependency lay dead

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

M.M.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.