Poets logo

Ghost

Ghost

By Annekje R. ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

You used to acknowledge me,

You used to say 'hi' when

You walked in the door,

And saw me sitting there

In the chair, in the corner.

It's like I'm a ghost.

~

You look at me, but it feels

Like you don't see me,

Am I a ghost?

~

You don't talk to me,

Unless I talk to you,

Even then it's like

You don't really hear;

I'm nothing but a ghost.

~

Your silence cuts into me,

The pain consumes me,

I wish you would tell me,

What happened, what I did.

~

I try to cry, but cannot,

The pain has won.

I can't even bring forth a tear,

No matter how hard I try.

This is why I'm now a ghost.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Annekje R. Thompson

Poetry and fiction story writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.