Poets logo

Poem collection

Poems

By Annekje R. ThompsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Faerie hollow

A rippling stream, a soft and mossy bed,

A ring of trees, a thicket of vines,

A full moon shining bright as day,

Shedding it’s silvery light in this secret hollow.

What comes here? Whispering voices start to sing,

adding to the charm.

The moonbeams start to dance, the voices come forward,

Faeries! Silent, mysterious and beautiful faeries!

Linking hands they surround the hollow, waiting.

Waiting for what? Ah!

Here she comes, the most beautiful of all,

The faerie queen enters, with glowing gold crown on her head,

Flowers in her hair and shimmering wings.

Oh mystic hollow, the secret that you hold,

Must be kept, lest, for want to see these midnight revels,

dangerous creatures come.

Then shall this charm be broke, and what a sadness it would be,

To have the faeries come no more.

Ghost

You used to acknowledge me,

You used to say 'hi' when

You walked in the door,

And saw me sitting there

In the chair, in the corner.

It's like I'm a ghost.

~

You look at me, but it feels

Like you don't see me,

Am I a ghost?

~

You don't talk to me,

Unless I talk to you,

Even then it's like

You don't really hear;

I'm nothing but a ghost.

~

Your silence cuts into me,

The pain consumes me,

I wish you would tell me,

What happened, what I did.

~

I try to cry, but cannot,

The pain has won.

I can't even bring forth a tear,

No matter how hard I try.

This is why I'm now a ghost.

Going Back

We sit talking about our childhood days,

How we practically grew up together,

For so many years.

Than I moved away,

But you still came and visited.

We talk about our childhood,

And how quickly we grew up.

Looking at you, I think;

“If only you knew.”

How I long to go back to those days,

When I could sit with you without hurting,

When every time it rained,

It didn’t express the tears that I held back.

When every time it thundered,

It didn’t echo of the sound of my heart breaking.

When the lightning that light up the sky,

Didn’t speak of the bolts you shot into my heart.

I know it’s hopeless,

With you so far away,

We can’t grow up together anymore,

But I want to go back,

Back to when we played together,

Without this pain in my heart.

History

A whisper, a breath,

A shadow, a shade,

A shape, a face,

That is history.

A gun, a sword,

A battle, a war,

Brother against Brother,

Families torn apart,

This was history.

War after War,

fight after fight,

People against people,

Race against race,

The Germans, The Jews,

The British, the patriots,

They made history.

The Revolutionary war,

The war of 1812,

The Civil war,

World war I and II,

The Spanish-American war,

History repeating itself.

The battle of Lexington,

Concord, Boston and

Valley forge,

The battle of Bull Run,

The Somme war,

Pearl Harbor,

Roosevelt in Santiago, Cuba.

History comes back.

Now here we sit,

Thinking it’s all over,

The world is at peace,

No more war.

How little we know,

There is always a war,

History has a way of repeating,

again and again.

We learn, but don’t retain,

We think, but don’t realize,

We shudder, but don’t care,

The sacrifices that have been made,

The lives taken, the pain that abounds,

The ones that lived, for whom

The horrors never cease,

Even in a dream.

Oh, The things we could learn,

If only we tried, or wanted,

The changes that might happen,

Alas, never will it come.

For history will always repeat itself,

all the battles, the places and races,

Will happen again.

Home

The sun sets behind the mountain,

casting shadows all around.

Making pink clouds and a pink sky.

Sitting on the hill I dream of faraway places,

just waiting to be found.

Then winter comes, cold and snowy,

and then I think how nice it is to be home,

Where the fire blazes warm and inviting,

and all is snug and calm.

Nothing but a dance

You walk around me,

I walk around you.

It's a complicated dance.

When we talk,

We are careful and nervous.

It's a stressful dance.

You don't show your feelings,

Neither do I.

We're too scared.

I love you,

I don't know

How you feel about me.

Love is nothing but a dance.

Our Dreams

We all have dreams,

We all lie awake at night,

Our heads are filled with

The brightest colors.

We think of what

Our world could be,

We have visions.

People may call us crazy,

I for one, don't care.

We can make our dreams,

Our visions, our wishes

And hopes come true.

It will take strength,

Courage and work,

We can do it.

Don't let go,

Don't give up.

End of Part 1

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Annekje R. Thompson

Poetry and fiction story writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.