Poets logo

Garbage in the Gutter

Get the Picture?

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
10

Introduction

This is a series of poems I wrote from the gutter, so to speak. Like Bukowski on a bender, I was in a cynical yet whimsical state of mind. This is not an apology, for I cannot help but note that these sentiments, though off-putting to polite society, still hold true, as is so often the case. I am shifting away from this sort of work, but I feel that it came from such a genuine place that it should be published for posterity.

What’s most important is the smiley faces and the fact that, despite my low origins and insouciant wallowing, I do really care; and, yes, these sentiments still hold true, but they point to better truths, those beyond “The Game” and criticisms of the game (which is, after all, the game).

So don't take it personally!

Beyond that, the sum of wisdom in this matter is silence.

***** * *****

Garbage in the Gutter

I am well acquainted

With how awful life can be,

Having been at one point and another

The garbage in the gutter,

Stepped over by those

Who do not see

Beyond the tip of their nose.

So drop a coin in the slot,

And feed the powers that be.

It won’t better the life of the sot

In his liquor-store-leaning revery,

But you’ll feel better today

As will he, on his way

To another drunken night

Washing away the blight

On the indifferent tide,

A compulsory ride

To his own private hell

Built from the ruin

Of the illusory heaven

We continue to buy and sell.

***** * *****

The Pelican

Literary art does not pull out the barbed arrow of cultural critique to suture the wound so as to walk among the rabble and pretend it is healed.

It drives the arrow deeper,

Twists until it bleeds out.

This is the source of the highest art.

“Poetry is not an opinion expressed. It is a song that rises from a bleeding wound or a smiling mouth.” -Kahlil Gibran, Sand & Foam

***** * *****

IRONY

Like Schrodinger’s Cat

In Pandora’s Box,

Prometheus Bound

Remains Free.

***** * *****

PLIGHT OF MAN

I run on beer and breakfast,

No care for how long it will last.

After all, I ain’t promised tomorrow,

Already drank my share of sorrow,

Been used and abused as a toy…

Why not brew my own sacred joy?

<>

FUCK YOU.

<>

I DON’T OWE YOU SHIT.

<>

Triangulate your hate elsewhere.

It was always more

Than I was willing to bear.

<>

And I really care…

<>

Do you?

<>

DO YOU REALLY CARE?

***** * *****

Get the Picture?

social commentaryCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 2 months ago

    I like your story. It's raw and so straight forward . Nice.

  • I loved Irony and Plight of Man the most! I also learnt a new word, insouciant!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Ok, I found myself laughing, screaming ( because it was true) and nodding my head, a lot, in agreement. Love them all But your ‘plight of man…..now that was a big Fuck yeah.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Plight of Man. Made me laugh! That's defiance right there!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    For the gutter: I whip out a 5-dollar bill for ANYONE who asks for $$. Yea, I may be a sucker, but at the end of my life, how much have I lost? A few hundred bucks, tops? But the satisfaction I get in return! And it doesn't matter whether it helped someone or not. It helped me. (And it really may have helped someone.)

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    "Triangulate your hate elsewhere. It was always more Than I was willing to bear." I hear ya, and I ain't asking. 👏

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    'Like Bukowski on a bender' You made me spit out my coffee! Theses all packed a punch. 'Fuck you for asking' though. Truth right there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.