Poets logo

Fulcrum Grim

Swallowing me whole

By Anna TorresPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Fulcrum Grim
Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

The air is conspiring against me. It’s like the drain of the ocean is commandeering me and sucking me down. I’m only treading water instead of swimming to shore. I’m only gasping for breath instead of preventing a heart attack. It’s a cryptic void that’s attempting to swallow me whole. A collection of drifting embers that is floating to nowhere. I hope for rescue or relief from laborious peril. What lured me out in the first place? I panic internally to keep from surrendering. The tides are unforgiving but so am I. I am isolated from despair and captive to the undertow. All I see are sea apparitions but there’s no where to go. I see phantom ships but they are just worthless vessels. I’m losing the grip on my rope and my precious sanity. I rather sink into the sky instead of absconding into the earth. A Fata Morgana attacks my senses that are already dull. I wish this mirage was an oasis but it’s just a tease. A mimic Atlantis exists just beneath the waves. Circular motion interrupts my vertigo. Lucid fluidity forever interjects between failure and apathy. Where can you flee when all exits are closed? Every direction is the exact same. GPS coordinates hold no sway over corrupted reality. If I let go, I can finally reach this blessed nirvana I so crave. Tranquil meditations will help sever all ties. A choice to whether approach the monsoon or forfeit my longevity. Oxygen has become my enemy. This Plutonian chasm drags me under with its tentacles. I am enlightened from this abysmal purgatory. I have finally reached the horizon. I have finally reached the shore I have sought for so long. I am delivered from this heaving abyss and its holy pit and am now one with the earth

performance poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.