Poets logo

From vows to haunt

A poem of mourning

By G. A. BoteroPublished 23 days ago Updated 23 days ago 1 min read
2
Photo by G.A. Botero

Once, the cuboid closes

I’ll stand alone

just holding roses.

---

The misty air, of fresh soil’s scent

a patch of grass

the crow’s descent.

---

A shadow as wide, as light can travel

feels like a sharp calamus

shot as an arrow.

---

Salty moisture, downs my lips

as painful as the calluses

on my finger tips.

---

As the crowds depart, with bleeding hearts

I think of me

my change of heart.

---

My moisture mask, turns into air

my lips wake up

so does despair.

---

Alone at last, my soul proclaims

and I start dancing

without Loraine.

---

Fragrant flower, you fill the air

I am not alone

I sense you there.

---

Forever!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Thanks for reading

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore22 days ago

    There is such isolation in grieving, even though it's all about connection.

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved both your poem and photo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.