Poets logo

From a Secret Admirer

A Epistolary Poem

By Dana CrandellPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
138
From a Secret Admirer
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Dear Luna,

While you've not known that I exist,

In shadows deep, I've stood

And memorized your every curve

Relentlessly, since boyhood.

*

Quite brazenly, I've lain in wait

'Til you came into view,

To gaze in awe as you passed by,

Once more enthralled by you.

*

I've come to know your every mood

From saturnine to bright

And every nuanced mask you've worn

Across the stage of night.

*

I've felt the sting of jealousy

As others ventured near

Unraveling your mysteries

While I stayed, stranded, here.

*

And yet, I've witnessed as I watched

From my viewpoint below,

More intrigue, romance and mystique

Than they could ever know.

*

And so tonight, I pen these words

That you will never see,

Because you don't know I exist.

In Adoration,

Me

***

Thanks for reading!

love poemsnature poetry
138

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (93)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Lovely poem for one who remains out of your grasp. Congratulations to TS and for winning First Place in Epistolary Challenge.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Congratulations on the year end award, this piece is all you, brilliant. I am looking forward to reading more of your work this year

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    I feel such fondness for that little boy still there. This is great, I don't know how I didn't see it sooner.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    You took a letter I would have assumed to turn creepy or dark and made it so redemptive, so gorgeous, so utterly romantic. I feel it has the purity of unrequited love that can frequently get overshadowed and ignored. I truly love this, Dana. Your meter is superb and the subtle rhyme is so delicious, especially at the end. The diction (saturnine, in particular) is breathtaking. A well-deserved win. I'm so happy you got first prize for this, as it is sincerely stunning. πŸ’—πŸ€―πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  • SalomΓ© Saffiri10 months ago

    What wonderful visualization

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Luna doesn't know what she is missing. Bet someone broke her heart because you were too shy to speak. Still, granddad, you must have done something right. Am late, but than never, right. Congrats on the win.

  • Jason J. Marchi11 months ago

    Well done! A poem to be read again and again.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    AMAZING πŸ’œ

  • Linda Rivenbark11 months ago

    Congratulations on your Challenge Win First Place! That's big time...hurrah!!! Well-deserved win!!!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Congratulations Dana!!! It’s the weekend again here in Brisbane. So and only just catching up. Pauline 🌸

  • Obviously why this won! It is so beautiful.

  • Sherry Lowell-Lewis11 months ago

    So clever. Simple. That's what makes it accessible. Sweet.

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    Wonderful!! Such a great poem - only just got around to reading it now but so glad I did. Congratulations on this well deserved first place!

  • Rita 11 months ago

    This is beautiful

  • AGB11 months ago

    Congrats on the well deserved win. Very Romantic and beautiful!

  • Very well written Dana. I love the gentle beauty in your words and the end is bittersweet. Congratulations on the win.

  • Randa Ray11 months ago

    Well that was very lovely and romantic, oh to the moon! Great writing :)

  • Oh wow this was good. So deserving of winning. I was actually disappointed at the end because it was over lol. Glad, I finally got around to reading it.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    Brilliant, Dana! I love the layers, the longing. Congratulations!!

  • Julia Alfred11 months ago

    I really liked this!

  • Christina Hunter11 months ago

    Beautiful piece ❀️

  • Raheem Saheed11 months ago

    Wow I love this

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    This is a phenomenal piece, Dana! Congratulations on winning the challenge!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Congratulations Dana!! A captivating piece. Evocative language: β€˜I've come to know your every mood From saturnine to bright And every nuanced mask you've worn Across the stage of night.’ Thank you for submitting and for my moment of sublime. Pauline 🌸(I have no idea why but I always try to add β€˜Insights’ but the never post. I try!)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.