Poets logo

From a Distance

A sonnet for care workers

By Natasja RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
From a Distance
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

There are things they never tell you...

That it’s impossible not to care.

Uninterrupted breaks are all too rare.

You know what your patients go through,

You've walked the mile with them too,

Their shield from sneers and stares.

Their guard against pain and despair.

These are the things they never tell you.

By Aiony Haust on Unsplash

The hardest part is this, I fear,

That their fate you may never know.

Walk in, and one is no longer here,

To home or hospice or where none may follow,

No-one tells, and you may shed no tear,

And for a moment, your heart is hollow.

By Luke Jones on Unsplash

This perameter is known as the Italian Sonnet, which is split into two parts. The first part flows a-b-b-a-a-b-b-a, while the second can be comprised of two to three rhyming sets. For this, I chose the simplest, which flows c-d-c-d-c-d.

I wrote this after one of my home care clients had a severe fall, and I arrived for my shift to see them being loaded into an ambulence. Honestly, it's like being a teenager again: writing angsty poetry to deal with my Complicated Emotional State.

inspirational
16

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.