Poets logo

Frogs & Cookies

Couldn't the batter be flatter?

By Scott ChristensonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read

At the age of six, chocolate cookies are what my grandma gave me.

After hunting frogs, in the bog behind her house, getting a cookie is what we agree.

I'm seven-years-old now.

Am I such a rookie, all I get is a chocolate chip cookie?

Couldn’t the batter be flatter? Oatmeal might be nice.

Halloween can be spooky. Give me a pumpkin cookie!

The ginger spice is near. It's a chilly time of year!

Do I need an upside down cake? I know you ain't got time to bake. Brownies are nice! Even if you buy them at a really low price.

Piggly-wiggly isn’t far. Going there will keep grandpa away from the bar!

Now I’m 46. All I want is a chocolate chip cookie.

I don’t need other goodies, just grandma and her cookies.

For FunSong Lyrics

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I baked upside down cake back in the day, maybe I should try it again. I do not like chocolate chips, I love chocolate and corn chips. But yep, i see your point. If my grandma had baked them, I would have loved them.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    I’m a huge fan of chocolate chip cookies, unfortunately I have to make them with carob chips since I can’t have caffeine. Loved your poem!

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Makes you want cookies.

  • Kageno Hoshino4 months ago

    Well this took me back

  • Well written Scott, that one hits hard.

  • Awww, this was so nostalgic! Loved your poem so much!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    sentimental snacks are the best--made with love

Scott ChristensonWritten by Scott Christenson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.