Poets logo

Friday night

partying with a broken heart

By A.RPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Friday night
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

I gaze at the mirror and see myself.

I got red rimmed eyes and a look of exhaustion.

I have screamed all night till my voice rang hollow.

I try to crack a smile, but my face doesn’t move.

Inside my eyes stare back reflecting the emotions I feel inside.

I swore that this time around, I would feel a bit lighter.

The bright lights, colours and confetti keep flashing before my eyes.

Mesmerizing music playing inside my mind.

Laughter and joy painted on faces around me.

A cold breeze and smoke in the air.

Clasped hands and dancing with the bass pounding hard as our hearts.

I wanted to feel that energy around me.

My spirit was as high as the DJ that was waving above me.

I just wanted to let loose this Friday night.

But instead, my world comes crashing down.

I’m back again inside your suffocating car.

With tears dripping down my face as you tell me, “We are done”.

You won’t tell me why so here I am.

Lost in the memories that keep haunting me.

And my life just at a standstill.

I am told with time, I will be whole again.

I will be free and light like before.

And I will enjoy my Friday nights again.

heartbreakinspirationalsad poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

A.R

Writing about my lonely, scary and sometimes happy world ❤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.