Poets logo

Free falling

Again

By Maureen Fleming Published 3 years ago 1 min read

Free falling

I feel I am destined to float

in and out

of broken hearts

like a dandelion

blown into the air

on a wish of something else

where no one notices me

until I’m dancing in the wind

of a memory

I won’t try and compete

in connections deep

I can see my worth

I will never be a choice

It will be no ones fault

for I am more than enough-

as are you

try to remember that

Were we fated to meet

and return to each other?

A once in a lifetime of

feeling more alive

sitting side by side-

than a lifeless lifetime

spent with the wrong person?

The no person?

Feeling more content

in the silence

of perfect presence

than the dull noise of everything?

The silence of nothing?

A reminder of fleeting expansion?

And now

I am not afraid of feeling again

but I hold my heart close

for the very reason you do

The language of love is sad

Always a beginning and an end

one day we’re together

Free falling

lost in time of long hours

with 2am secret stories

no one knows of

In the next moment;

two people

who used to know each other

That’s life, Mr

That’s love, Lady

That’s how it is for us anyway

Hippies forever, maybe

I guess we just have to trust

what’s given to us

And what’s meant for us

will stay, and what isn’t

will slip through our hands

like falling sand on a midnight beach

Memories swirling like dandelions

on second verse endings,

same as the first one, a daring

to free falling, all over again

At least I know

my soul and your soul

are incredibly old friends, my dear

Both terribly aware entirely

of dangerous territory:

poems blending into stories without

meaning

photos morphing into pictures without

feeling

framed and printed

in stone

permanently

Continuum of dreaming halted..

You and me?

Dandelion seeds

blowing in the breeze

Indeed.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Maureen Fleming

”You really must stay drunk on writing

so reality cannot destroy you”.

-Ray Bradbury

I am a mother. A social care worker, and I love to write about life. I love to read. I love the beach.

Iloveiloveilove 💖

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Maureen Fleming Written by Maureen Fleming

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.