Poets logo

Forgiveness

a poem

By Talia HazeltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Forgiveness
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

I want to give you a dozen enveloped poems,

Tucked into your pants when you aren’t looking

Reverse pickpocketing at its most revealing.

I want to present you with words,

These tiny dead birds all I can catch with my mouth.

I want to watch your face furrow with the realization

To recognize when you are forcing your eyes down

To witness the blush of reciprocation spread across those delicate cheeks.

But I won’t.

I keep these things tucked deep,

Think about your hands on my own time

Pretend that this emotional labor has always been just mine.

I stumble over sentence structures I used to own

These buildings inhabited by ugly almosts.

Wanna give you flesh and bone

Wrecking ball kisses

The softest, sweetest fingertip touch.

I want to taste your hot morning breath groans

Haunt my tongue with that flavor

I could watch you walk away from me all day on those cloud feet.

I have.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.