Poets logo

Forever Yours

every single time.....

By TestPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Forever Yours
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

Dear Poetry,

I had no idea how difficult this would be. I have started this letter to you fourteen times and have discarded all of those attempts. I am writing to you to try to tell you how I feel about you. This is a love letter, plain and simple.

*

I have read and been advised that love, real love, is a choice. As a grown man, father and husband, I understand that. When my boys were born, my capacity to love grew Grinch-like, each time. I had no idea I could love so fiercely. My love for my wife has grown into a steadfast communion of trust and communication, something I avoided most of my life. She is my confidante and best friend, my partner. I love her with all my heart, but she is not my only lover, because there is you. You are something entirely different.

*

You are my mystery. You are never the same. You hide invisible in plain sight, inside a moment within the divine creation of now.

*

And I don’t always find you when I look for you. I don’t always touch you when I reach for you. But when I do find you and touch you, every time, every single time, is like the first time. You touch my heart and soul like a first kiss. Every time! How can that be? It’s electric and sweet and squeezes my heart so hard, with a caress so pure that I brim to overflowing. I flutter like a schoolboy and soar all at once. Nothing and no one else can do this; there is only ever a first time once, but not with you. Just thinking you and I long for you. I feel the anticipation of you as we lean into each other, knowing it will ever be the first time we kissed.

*

I always hear you when you speak. When you grace another with a brush of your lips, I feel it as well. It was what made me search for you. I read and reread, think and rethink your affairs with these oh-so-many others and I cannot help but tingle and sigh. I lose myself even in your embrace of another. I do not get jealous. I accept that you are beyond my ownership or any other’s. I am only ever blessed to be in your company.

*

Even so, I pray that I might again be first upon the wonderful discovery of your creation and taste for myself the sweet agony of your lips.

*

Forever yours,

a writer

performance poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Test

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

TWritten by Test

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.