Poets logo

For Madison L.J.

The grocery store girl I fell in love with

By Michael OmelonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

12/13/2020 9:10am

---

For M.L.J.

---

I worry if I may burden you with the way things change around where I walk...

...I try to not interrupt you...

...but I can finish all your sentences.

And I'd accept my sentence-

if it meant I'd be locked up with you.

Such madness has consumed my heart so its true.

I'd take any second if you only have few...

Please?

I tried to divert my path, feeling as an iceberg (in your way).

And on that wayward day;

where while on the way,

to put away whey...

...all I saw was you.

Could not help myself.

Did my best impression of how butter will melt

when in the warmth of the rays of the sun.

Truly, it felt...

...like a magnetic attraction; electrically defined!

So I took every chance to stand with you in line.

"It's peaceful, isn't it?" So agreed my mind.

In the juice isle I felt love redefined.

What emotions! Ferocious!

Both lovely and atrocious!

Genuine human neural commotions!

Yet it heals my skin like lotions

made from the waters of oceans.

I feel I look sleepy-

(even possibly creepy)

when I look at your face...

...and feel I've run a long race.

Eyes fixed on your beauty,

radiance amassed.

I've only once blinked-

and an hour has passed.

---

Yours truly,

Michael

---

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Michael Omelon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.