Poets logo

Fly In The Moondust

The moon explodes and I take off.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Fly In The Moondust
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Behind the foggy veil of the fast-moving clouds of night,

The moon glows with calm persistence, whispering

Of the shifting change in the softening soil.

Grey, cratered eyes open to see the moss

Awake from its slumber.

They witness me instead.

.

With hands covered in the smell of metal and iron

And a tongue coloured red from the bad deeds I swallow,

The blood and mistakes I bathe in,

The moon witnesses my lunacy.

She startles, freezes, and implodes,

Scattering her white moondust across the land.

.

I kneel and snort, splutter and cough,

Then lift my arms with a feral cry and take off to fly

Because the blade against my skill feels too sultry

And the knives in my mouth taste too savory

For me to ever let go of this dance

In the scattered moondust.

.

Silver Serpent Books

.

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Carol Dauxabout a year ago

    Wow! The strength of the moon to face the power of the dance set against the ethereal scatter of moondust. You could go crazy with symbolism here! I love it!!

  • John Kabout a year ago

    This gives me the feeling of a reluctant spring!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.