Poets logo

Flashbacks

PTSD poem

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Flashbacks
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

It happened a decade ago

But it hurts like yesterday

They say snap out of it

I shouldn’t talk about it

I’ve been silent for too long

I have a right to share my trauma

I’ll never get over it, even when I’m

Told how much you have changed

You duped others, but not me anymore

Nightmares rinse and repeat

Cheeks still burn where

your fists used to rest

My limbs sore from the fall

Silenced and put down

Gagged so I can’t say no

Handcuffed so I can’t fight back

Turning friends against me

Shouting and self-neglect

I just wanted the abuse to stop

Don’t want the trauma anymore

Even if you knew all the things I suffered

You‘d still blame me because you get off

By making people feel small and the

reason you abuse women and children

and call it play fighting is cause you can’t

win a match against a real man

Nobody to play dirty teacher/naughty student

The day you die in my my head

will be a day of salvation and peace

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Very relatable, I hope you have healthy tools in place when something triggers flashbacks. Sending you hugs and good vibes, Chloe. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.