Poets logo

Fix

Poems and short stories about human connection

By Tina MuzondoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fix
Photo by Carly Reeves on Unsplash

I am on one side of a very awkward conversation.

I keep looking at you like you’re about to disappear.

I’m making mental notes about every single feature on your face.

Every time you look at the window, I stare.

When you look back, I look down.

When you look up, I look left.

When you look at me, I freeze.

I feel like a child, trying to figure out how badly broken my favourite toy is.

I get stuck there, sometimes, childhood.

Mine wasn’t great.

You know that.

Have I broken you beyond repair?

Can I glue you back together?

They’ll never make another you.

Can you feel the pulse of my never ending apology?

We are talking like it’s our first date.

Like we’re strangers with a mutual interest in each other.

Light conversation, simple topics.

The kind of small talk we only make when we’re bored.

Back at the start.

We have to start somewhere, I suppose.

Quite a fall from grace that was.

We both contributed.

That’s what I tell myself, so I don’t have to face it.

That the fault is mine.

You reach for my hand.

Yours are always so warm.

My body trembles with need.

I need you closer, so much closer.

But I cant force that.

I can’t take that chance fearlessly.

I have to wait a little.

You have to trust me again.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tina Muzondo

Tina Muzondo is a writer with a keen interest in health and wellness, the relationships we have both with ourselves and with others . Her writing is deeply personal, simple and honest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.