Poets logo

I "found" this Poem

by Emily Dickinson with help of Jenny David

By Shirley BelkPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
14
Found this photo to be fun

‘I’m Nobody! Who are you?’ (Emily Dickinson)

I’m Nobody! Who are you?

Are you – Nobody – too?

Then there’s a pair of us!

Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

__________________________________________

"I'm Somebody! What's it to Ya?" (Shirley Belk)

I'm Somebody! Who do you think you are?

Are you - Somebody - too?

Don't even think we are alike!

Go and tell everybody that! Nobody will even listen!

___________________________________________

Hi everyone! Happy Found Poem Friday! It's a little late but there's nothing like burning the midnight oil, am I right? Here's prompt a to help creativity flow:

Write a found poem that has the opposite meaning of it's original work. If the original poem is happy, then your found poem should be sad, and so forth. The original work for this prompt should be poetry. Keep in mind, you are limited to only use words that are FOUND 😉 in the original work

"What makes a found poem?

Found poems take existing texts and refashion them, reorder them, and present them as poems. The literary equivalent of a collage, found poetry is often made from newspaper articles, street signs, graffiti, speeches, letters, or even other poems."

-Academy of American of Poets (poets.org)

Happy Writing! (by Jenny David on Voices in Minor FB group)

For FunBlackout
14

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 days ago

    Are we still doing found poems. I am just not keeping up with things. Sigh!!!! This was a lovely twisty poem.

  • This is excellent. I had a little difficulty with the concept but I think that I have hundreds of mine that will be perfect for this

  • Jennifer David13 days ago

    I'm so glad you took a crack at the prompt! I hope you enjoyed it. I definitely enjoyed your writing <3

  • I'd loveeeeee to take a happy romantic poem and turn it into a murder hehehehehe. Let's see if Mr Brain comes up with anything. Loved your take on this!

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    I see… 🤣 Nice job with this! My brain is full of pollen so I can’t make it try this … yet. 🤯🤧

  • Lana V Lynx13 days ago

    That’s such a nice take on the prompt, Shirley! Very impressive.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.