Poets logo

First Love

(First Heartbreak)

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5

My first love was

Eyes seeing me when

The rest of the world

Didn’t notice me

Standing in the shadows

🥀

My first love was

Genuine laughter and

Pointless conversations

That meant everything to me

🥀

My first love was

Greetings in hallways and

Waves across crowded rooms

🥀

My first love was

Mumbled words

And shy smiles

Lit up faces and

Constant daydreams

🥀

My first love was

My first heartbreak

Sleepless nights

Blurry eyes

Shaky smiles

And eyes looking

At the ground

🥀

My first heartbreak

Was sad songs

And blankets at midday

It was insecurities

And emptied hope

🥀

It was shattering hearts

And poisonous thoughts

Lightless stars

Oceans of tears

And love letters

Stuffed into dusty drawers

🥀

My first love

Was the person

I thought you were

And my first heartbreak

Was the person you

Turned out to be

🥀

You were a daydream

That was never real

A home that burnt down

A memory that never mattered

And a butterfly flying

Just out of reach

🥀

You are the scars

On my heart and

The hesitation in my words

When someone asks me about love

🥀

You are my demons

And my fears and

The silences that

Suffocate me

🥀

My first love and heartbreak

Were my darkest days

And the overwhelming idea

That I was not enough

_______________

Read the recreated version below:

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
5

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    You, too?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.