Poets logo

first love

Time heals, but love heals faster.

By Erin LockhartPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
first love
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Delicate brush of hands,

Hesitant look at your lips.

My first love, but not my first lover.

I’m scared,

Terrified

That I’m too deep in ruination.

Too scarred, too damaged.

Too much for you to handle,

To love.

I'm so used to giving all of myself,

But I've learned my mistakes.

Though I can't help but wonder,

Does anyone even want it?

Do you?

Would you mind, if I got close?

If I let secrets simmer away in our body heat,

Dried up in a drought of my own doing?

Is this even love?

I can never decide.

Love can't decide for me.

The lines are too blurred,

But I see something in your eyes.

Dark as the place under the covers

Where stray souls dwell,

Looking for something that's on

The tip of their tongue.

I see something that makes me

Want to kiss you.

So I do.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Erin Lockhart

Resident goth, metalhead, poet, illustrator, and ghost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.