Poets logo

body//horror

Myself never ends.

By Erin LockhartPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

the mirror lies,

i am not who i am

nor am i held by skin

i am stitched together by

discordant rhythms pounding

against what remains of my chest

all my limbs blur as they shudder,

clawing at dark floorboards

that keep me from the grave:

the shroud i can’t avoid,

tangled in parallel veins

my bones rise from the burning of blood:

cracking, snapping, fracturing

under the weight of myself,

heavier than the clouded sky

my throat, slashed,

my eyes, gouged,

rolling farther away than this

shamble can reach

and from my own hand comes

a glint, so close,

barely grazing the skin,

it slits me open but i’m already gone

and what remains is just hollow space

empty

nothing but the flimsy shell

i call flesh

i can’t escape myself, so

tear me apart and teach me how to die

over and over and

over again

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Lockhart

Resident goth, metalhead, poet, illustrator, and ghost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.