Poets logo

First Fear... Then...

It all starts with fear...

By Debra DebekPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
First Fear... Then...
Photo by David Emrich on Unsplash

I wait anxiously as the sound of the ticking clock that sits upon the wall begins to feel as though it’s buried inside my chest

I’m waiting to hear the sound of footsteps creak along the old worn wooden floors that lead to my front door

My palms begin to feel damp as I pace quietly back and forth inside along the strip of carpeting in front of the door

I’m very aware of being very quiet as my ears are focused on every tiny sound I hear outside

I walk into the bathroom 17 times and exam my image sure I’d see something horrible looking back at me

I quickly but quietly return to my pacing so I’m near to the door when the dreaded footsteps creek one, two, three, four steps from down the hall with each step louder and louder as the steps get closer and closer

Then all of a sudden there they are! Steps getting louder and louder! My throat is dry. Little beads of sweat form just above the curve of my brow

The knock! I open the door and you reach your arm through to push through a beautiful bouquet of flowers as you excitedly say, “hi, you ready for our date?”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Debra Debek

Writer enthusiast, poetry lover, using my voice to unravel a complicated life and a complicated mind of one human life sharing experiences of all human lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.