Poets logo

finding love

misunderstood

By Claire HunterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

misunderstood

but looking just the way that I should

hair curled, underwire bra on

a smile but never too eager

just always

the way she wanted---

years past 

fell into a robotic-like rhythm

the color fading

cogs never quite fit, the ladybugs and butterflies

 no longer sparking confetti rainbows of excitement

no room for the airy dreamy girl

-

"get a man, do them right,

without that How will I ever say I did it right?"

Who are you? What are you doing?

I am giving you a plan --a simple to follow guide, 

I know the best thing for you to decide"

-

Her words fall 

landing hard

broken discernment

confusion interrupting the line.

-

you see, the rain, the pain

and the guilt

that followed after walking away

was dark.

-

lonely and filled with the murky grey of shame

maybe she was right...Is this love?

contort, twist and fit melt into

the perfect mold she's made for me?

-

and then

in the shop window I see her, heart skips and then inside something bursts

there is a reverbiration resounding

it's echos

shattering the walls I put up

fear that without them danger wins.

-

with her I am me, and she is she.

Seenheard and valued

inside too much color to hide.

together we find

This is love!

It bursts out, uncaged

unafraid.

-

proud of who I have become.

still becoming--

shy about how long it's taken and

the grief and exhaustion of attempted exile. 

Banishment never lasting

-

Diligent pivotal effort --

open my arms and let my colors show.

beautiful to embrace the me that felt unloved. 

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.