Poets logo

Fight Colour With Colour

A Dream

By Jennifer Dawn CoombsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
21
Jennifer Coombs Photography

Fight Colour with Colour

My body encompassed by violet light, carries me down a river of sea-blue.

Droplets of heavenly mist, find their way into my hair.

I see a doorway, I think of you.

Night shadows loom before me.

Red walls pushing me back.

I shrink away.

Black smoke hurls toward me, I can’t breathe.

Must it always end this way?

A sinister caress, chills shattering my bones.

It’s me, I’m grey.

Please don’t leave me alone.

I’m scattered.

I don’t know what else to say.

What colour can save me now,

If the colour of courage is red?

Cowardly, yellow is how I feel.

My arms are heavy,

charcoal, like lead

But, the walls that hold me back are red,

I think hesitantly, now

How do I find courage if it is not red?

Am I still alive?

Only the light can tell me how.

Ah, fight colour with colour, you say.

Go full spectrum into your head.

Reflect those shadows into the light.

Think gold.

A prism disguised as a rainbow, waiting at the end.

What is reality without colour?

Nothing can exist without light.

Each colour has its own wavelength.

Souls and colours aren’t separate,

so hold tight

Some colours endure longer, some pass quickly.

I think souls travel the same.

Existence is challenging.

An artist can alter the picture,

but, does the soul always remain the same?

So, if this is life as we know it,

and we revolve around colour;

What colour are you?

If you had been given the choice,

would you have chosen another?

Or would you make this one do?

inspirational
21

About the Creator

Jennifer Dawn Coombs

An aspiring artist, photographer, writer. I enjoy anything creative that gets the imagination flowing.

Putting my writing work out there and appreciate any feedback.

If you like my stories, hit the little heart or a small encouraging tip 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.