Poets logo

Fernweh

Dreaming of adventures

By Amanda McGuirePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fernweh
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

The branches sway gently as the last blue hues of the sky fade to black.

The stars begin to poke their way out of the darkness, their light seeming to twinkle and fade.

My thoughts wander to far away places. Aching to be somewhere I’ve never been.

This chaotic, yet routine life is not enough.

I want to hold your hand and walk down a cobblestone street as the rain soaks our backs.

I want to swim in the warm ocean naked in the moonlight.

I want to listen to you order food in their native tongues, and then feed me like you used to.

I want to run through the forest, climb rocks and kiss you under hidden waterfalls.

Days spent in the sun freckling my skin and darkening yours. With nights spent with our bodies entwined on cool sheets.

Lazy afternoons in a hammock for two. Foraging for our own food.

Art museums, street art and lots of photographs.

Random live music drawing us in leading to dancing in the street.

Fancy cocktails, locally crafted drinks, earthy natural substances shared.

Boat rides, plane rides, bikes and long car trips.

My mind dreams of adventures, my heart aches for far away places… with you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.