Poets logo

Feeling Lost

Therapy Helps.

By wispo uganjaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Feeling Lost
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

As I sat in my room, staring out the window at the world outside, I couldn't help but feel a sense of melancholy washing over me. It seemed as though the world was moving on without me, leaving me behind in a cloud of dust and uncertainty. I felt lost and alone, struggling to find my place in this vast and confusing world.

It wasn't always like this. There was a time when I felt happy and carefree, when the world was full of possibilities and opportunities. But somewhere along the way, I lost my sense of direction, my purpose in life. I felt like I was just going through the motions, existing rather than living.

I tried to shake off these feelings, to focus on the positive things in my life. I had a loving family, supportive friends, and a roof over my head. But no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't shake this sense of unease, this feeling that something was missing.

As the days passed, my mood only seemed to worsen. I found myself withdrawing from my friends and family, retreating into myself and my thoughts. I didn't want to burden anyone with my problems, didn't want to admit that I was struggling.

But one day, I couldn't take it anymore. I broke down in tears, overwhelmed by the weight of my emotions. It was then that I realized that I needed help, that I couldn't do this on my own.

I reached out to a therapist, someone who could help me work through my feelings and find a way forward. It wasn't easy, and there were times when I felt like giving up, but slowly and surely, I began to make progress.

I started to take small steps, to set goals for myself and work towards them. I began to focus on the things that brought me joy, to make time for the activities and hobbies that made me feel alive.

And slowly but surely, the fog began to lift. I started to feel more like myself again, to see the world through a clearer lens. I still had bad days, moments when the weight of my emotions threatened to overwhelm me, but I was better equipped to handle them.

Looking back now, I realize that my journey was a difficult one, but it was also a necessary one. It forced me to confront the parts of myself that I had been avoiding, to confront my fears and insecurities head-on.

But most importantly, it taught me that it's okay to not be okay. That there is no shame in asking for help, in admitting that you're struggling. It taught me that the most important thing is to take care of yourself, to prioritize your mental health and well-being above all else.

As I sit here now, looking out the window at the world outside, I realize that I still have a long way to go. There are still days when I struggle, when the weight of the world feels like too much to bear. But I also know that I am stronger now, more resilient and more capable of handling whatever comes my way.

And that, perhaps, is the greatest gift that this journey has given me. The knowledge that I am capable of overcoming my struggles, that I am capable of finding joy and purpose in this world. The knowledge that, no matter how dark things may seem, there is always a way forward.

Remember to like share comment and yes of course share this story to your friends and family.

inspirationallove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

wispo uganja

writing is more than just a means of exploration - it's also a way for me to connect with others. I love nothing more than hearing from readers who have been touched by my words, whether it's through a heartfelt essay or a gripping novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.