Poets logo

Favourite winter day

Calm before the storm

By Leah Gifford Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Perfect day

Those mornings after a long blistering cold snap.

You wake up to the brightest baby blue sky.

Like a painting from the creator, after weeks of -30 days.

As reward for braving the cold for so long.

The sun is glowing off the snow,

so much so that your brain is tricking you in feeling like it's giving off heat.

Tree's dressed full of crystals.

Sparkling underneath the sun , like tiny little diamonds.

The beauty of the fresh snow not touched yet.

Covering the landscape as if it's the earth's blanket for the winter.

Protecting the earth so it can heal and regenerate.

Over the cold winter months.

It's feels as if you are in a dream.

A dream only you'd see a disney movie.

The peace that comes with these extraordinary mornings.

How quiet the earth is,

with all the creatures sleeping.

Occasionally you'll hear a bird whistle his morning song.

Then back to silence and steadiness.

These are the days where i find it slows my heart down.

Calms my mind like magic.

I feel as if I'm floating outside of my body , healing myself.

Then you blink and you are back in your body.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Leah Gifford

I'm new on here . But I figured maybe this a way I can share all my stories from dog mushing to hiking with my dogs . And maybe occasional stories outside of that.

I've always wanted to write. Will see how it goes .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.