Poets logo

Father

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Father
Photo by Ante Hamersmit on Unsplash

Ghosts in my head

Of a relationship we never had

Raised by my dad

But you

I never set eyes on

Long forgotten

A dream

A past deeply desired

Fired by the struggle for identity

To belong

Somewhere

Anywhere

At sometime

To be wanted

Rather than daunted by the constant flaunting

A hollow shell

Living in a hell

Lack of identity bleeding into everything

Who could blame me

A different name in every place

A different face

Yet, I feel the same

Lost and lonely

Only seeking someone to hold me

Tell me it will be okay

Ask me how my day was

But you’re not their

You never were

Not because you didn’t care

But because you never knew

I was missing you

You were the father I never knew

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakFilthyfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
7

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Makes me think of "This Is Us" (incredible series) when he finally meets his birth father & begins to discover more of his story & those who love him.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Beautiful and poignant work. Great job. ☺️👏

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    Your willingness to share your feelings about fathers and fatherhood helps so many of us, your readers.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Loved the line- ‘A past deeply desired’ Excellent stream of words!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    So much wanting.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Pulls at the heartstrings!!! Left some love!!!

  • Questions of every adoptee, foster child, orphan, step child.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.