Poets logo

Fate

on processing change

By Kay HusnickPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
5
Fate
Photo by Jake Ingle on Unsplash

I turned in my resignation letter yesterday, and I'm packing up our old apartment. It's been mine since June, but so much of it is still yours.

There's a box on the window sill of things I may or may not mail back to you. I can't decide if it's worth the postage, so it sits there collecting dust in the meantime.

I don't do well with change I don't understand, and I couldn't understand you leaving while you still said you loved me. I had to make sense of it for myself.

So here I am, changing everything, moving, making my dreams reality, living the life I couldn't live if you had stayed,

your number is blocked, you won't have my new address, and I'm convincing myself, finally, all things happen for a reason.

heartbreakinspirational
5

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Very nicely written

  • Wishing you a fresh new start wherever you feel it would mean something better.

  • Angel Adagio7 months ago

    Such a beautiful piece! I hope the next chapter for you is better than the last and a more fulfilling one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.