Poets logo

Fate

The Stars Aligned

By Hannah StantonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Fate
Photo by Dilan NaGi on Unsplash

Across the room

you were vaping,

which normally I hate,

but I loved the way the

s

m

o

k

e

came out of your mouth.

I wanted to taste it ―

and your lips.

The whole night

my eyes

followed you.

Studied your laugh,

how you held yourself ―

and your drink.

Wishing it were me

that you were holding.

Throughout the night

I caught you looking.

Felt your eyes on me ―

Assessing.

Our eyes locked.

Only us existing.

Engaged in a battle of wills,

waiting to see who would surrender first ―

you.

You finally made your move

and approached.

My heart was racing,

my stomach was in knots.

“I want to get to know you more”

floated out of your mouth.

I opened mine to respond,

but nothing came out,

so I just nodded my head instead.

I had never believed in fate before,

but you made me wonder,

and then believe,

that we were destined to meet ―

fall in love.

3 ½ years later,

and here we still are.

It seems our love story

was indeed etched in the stars.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.