Poets logo

Fatal to the Touch

Dying Embers

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Fatal to the Touch
Photo by Lenstravelier on Unsplash

He looked at me like

I was a turquoise wall of flame;

Hypnotising to look at but

Fatal to the touch

He’d sometimes stand close

As if trying to shield himself

From the cold of this world

He’d come and go

Like happiness does

The time between

Each hello and goodbye

Getting bigger

Just like his smile

When he saw her

I understand why you’d

Love someone who isn’t me

I really do

You can stand next to me

But you can never really

Bring the stars to this earth

You can only bathe in the starlight

So hold her close

And love me far

I need to touch

Your wounds to

Heal them

So forgive me if

All I can do is pray

That you’ll find warmth

In the sun’s rays because

You looked for it in me

And all you found was

Dying embers

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please read the one below:

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    So evocative & heartbreaking. I read this a while back & waited to comment on it, only to forget that I still had it up on my computer hidden among all the other stories & notifications I was attempting to sift through. Reading it again just now it continues to strike me close to my heart as I sift through memories of past relationships or friendships where either I or they were left pining for & wishing the other person well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.