Poets logo

Far Away

I am from you

By Anne Watts Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Grief & Lose

The world is falling asleep

and in my room there’s still light

reflected beyond the mist of old mirrors.

Shapes of all the beautiful

things that remind me of you

are 3D dreams, kept under my

pillow.

Why am I so far away from you,

detached and cold,

like a ghost day dreaming in a tomb?

I wish I could’ve written something more

meaningful like:

your eyes were moons in a hidden paradise,

or your touch on my skin had the strength

of spider webs.

But my thoughts are running out,

I can’t write and grieve at the same time.

Being so far away from you,

and lost in emptiness,

keeps me quiet, makes me sit and wait

for the same rainbow feelings to come back,

feelings that now numb my skin,

for the heart to pump like crazy

and the senses to burn a field of summer.

But the sun comes up

and the world goes dull again,

and I carry on

far away from you.

Anne Watts

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Anne Watts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.