Poets logo

Falling

In Love With a Stranger

By Seth ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Falling
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I'm stranger than most of the fellas you've met.

Strange, 'cause when I was young, I fell on my head.

I was racing on rooftops, with a friend, on our school.

We thought we were ninjas; thought it would be cool

to get on the roof. We broke all the rules.

I won the race down, now I'm just a fool.

A gullible genius, I fall really hard.

Like, when I fell that day, down to the yard.

It wasn't a yard like a lawn with some grass.

It was the basketball court: asphalt with some gravel.

My face hit so hard; hit so many times

that I chipped a tooth and fractured my mind.

Paralyzed for a week; slow to move for three months.

My brother, he fed me my breakfast and lunch.

Now I've a bunch of misfits in my brain.

They're all in to get me and make me insane.

I learned about them after 'bout seven years

when voices from my head, I started to hear.

I've got the ability to see through a lie,

but only if I get to see liars' eyes.

I cannot be trusted if your intention is foul.

I'll see it. Believe it. I'll go on the prowl.

I hunt like a leopard. I'm swift, like a snake.

My biggest mistake is loving people who hate me.

I'm stranger than that but it's hard to detail

without giving specifics of my journey through Hell.

I'm begging you, PLEASE NEVER TELL ME A LIE.

I'll find out, throw a tantrum. You'll tell me, "Goodbye!

Good riddance to you!" I've heard it before

from my own family, slamming the door!

I'm here, on the farm, but I don't get along

with the people who live here: my sister and mom.

I've abandoned the dream of farming from here.

I'm going to somewhere, just where isn't clear.

No matter where I go, I know this is true.

I'm in love with a stranger. That stranger is you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Seth Thomas

EXPLICIT CONTENT! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Seth Thomas is a self-contained asylum for corrupt entities and vigilante heroes; currently locked inside his own brain cell, being CrAzY Creative!

https://vocal.media/humans/i-m-alive-i7c7z04y9

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.