Poets logo

Fake Hope

Poem

By Shahid AliPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fake Hope
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Always you, it was always you,

Why did it get so complicated

My love for you was never dilapidated,

And now I stand shunned from my own serenity,

Hammered by your oh so unsubtle mordant apathy.

Damn those hazel eyes of yours,

I was so color blind without them,

Raising my hope, lusting for the surreal world of us,

When the pain would have lessened

Upon realizing my heart was quite alright without them…

And as I look down upon my downtrodden sanity,

Likes of whose have condemned so many of my senses,

I see the devil smirking at my imbecility,

For had I been more graceful in falling in your essence,

My unsuspecting heart would have marked your presence

As merely a passing felicity,

Whose affections could be relied upon no more

Than the moonlight hiding the wolf’s tenacity…

So now as unrelenting my love for you may be,

I will strive to conserve all left of my battered soul,

For oblivion of those feelings is for the fickle, not me

And however agonizing may it drill the hole,

Again and again into my stone-cold chest, yes

It will prevent my mindless heart,

From falling into the territories it may once more detest.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Shahid Ali

a humble poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.