Poets logo

“Faites vos jeux” (“Place your bets”)

Can you take your glass off the layout please?

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
“Faites vos jeux” (“Place your bets”)
Photo by Kaysha on Unsplash

The roulette wheel spins fast. The ball clatters and clatters, round and round. I beam a wide Cheshire cat grin. I am lucky!

My $20,000 of chips are sitting “en plien” (single number/straight up bid) on 33. The payout is 35 to 1. 33 has always been good to me.

Mine is the largest wager on the table – the table maximum.

The croupier’s face beads with sweat. I watch him try to aim the ball well away from 33.

The roulette wheel spins fast. The ball clatters and clatters, round and round. I shake my head with a downcast, mournful smile. I am unlucky.

Inverse

The roulette wheel spins fast. The ball clatters and clatters, round and round. I shake my head with a downcast, mournful smile. I am unlucky.

The croupier’s face beads with sweat. I watch him try to aim the ball well away from 33.

Mine is the largest wager on the table – the table maximum.

My $20,000 of chips are sitting “en plien” (single number/straight up bid) on 33. The payout is 35 to 1. 33 has always been good to me.

The roulette wheel spins fast. The ball clatters and clatters, round and round. I beam a wide Cheshire cat grin. I am lucky!

For Fun

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This one made me smile at the second one. A lot of mulah to gamble away, lucky number lucky for you.

  • Test4 months ago

    Great poem.

  • Oh no, that was so sad. Was rooting for them to be lucky!

BBWritten by Bonnie Bowerman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.