Poets logo

Fairytale Lies

but from that, lessons derived

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Fairytale Lies
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

I question the lessons of fairytale movies

which now more than ever feel like a lie

narratives that push beliefs my heart

will never become a serendipitous find

detaching the rope attached to a third of my life

riddled with cynicism to linger in places

clearly displaying no vacancy signs

seldom allowing myself to forget to suffer

often required by leaving pieces behind

My life that has come and gone

in the blink of an eye

And only now that I have begun to ponder

the musings of those who choose to wander

instead of wasting time to discover

arbitrary fairytale crimes

Thank you for taking the time to read “Fairytale Lies.” If you enjoyed my work and want to read more, please check out “Panes of Glass” which was featured as a Vocal Top Story.

All likes, comments, tips and subscribes are greatly appreciated!

sad poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Megabout a year ago

    Great work! Couldn't agree more about fairytales

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.