Poets logo

When Hearts Become Clocks

and stop working

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
When Hearts Become Clocks
Photo by Neha Maheen Mahfin on Unsplash

While you were away to rebuild Rome

with revelations of your prose,

my future, like my past, disappeared.

With few resources to sustain our home,

our once-forever abode

soon collapsed exactly as I feared.

But after feeling restless and witnessing

patterns of fracture embedded deep

across domestic structure lines

I became determined to not get me down,

and took my heart to town,

while unaware of its ability to tell time.

And although I still believe, yes indeed,

this break was caused by a mess you made,

that is where my heart is now

and where my heart forever stays.

In the town center, my heart sits,

never again to know bliss,

a broken clock on display.

Thank you for taking the time to read When “Hearts Become Clocks.” It you enjoyed my work and want to read more, please check out “Frozen Pines.”

All tips, likes, comments and subscribes are appreciated!

performance poetrysad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.