Poets logo

Exposed

Give me back my clothes.

By Sandra MatosPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
10
Exposed
Photo by Nate Neelson on Unsplash

I write in slow-motion

with the same anxiety in my pocket

that I carry to

a party,

or school.

To work,

or your bed.

You can not tell

because the words

"You aren't good enough,"

are spoken in my head.

I smile and laugh

I talk and talk

because someone once said,

"It's unattractive to be worried."

I am self-conscious about

being self-conscious.

And now this

writing

being vocal

on Vocal.

A new kind of dread.

Will I be read?

If not

Am I an actual

Writer?

I write in my notebook,

anxiety gone,

my voice strong.

But here

Here I am, just

exposed.

Whether they read or

whether they don’t.

Stream of Consciousness
10

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 days ago

    You are a writer! I think that this expresses a lot of what many of the writers on here feel. But you are! I have read two poems by you today and I love the honesty of your voice. I'm subscribed and sorry I've not been here before.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I love how you express yourself your your writing creations ❤️

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Gosh this is so raw and honest and I think the exact same things run through my head.

  • Test2 months ago

    I know this feeling so well! That dreaded submit button! You want to/don't want to! Loved the sentiment of this and sure it will resonate with all but the very mostt self-confident of us! You got this! 🤍

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    I smile and laugh I talk and talk because someone once said, "It's unattractive to be worried." I am self-conscious about being self-conscious. Loved these lines!!! Such a impactful, well written stream of thought!!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    People use the phrase "aspiring writer", but I never cared much for that. You're either writing, or you're not. Clearly, you are writing, so you are a writer. It can be a bit nerve-wracking letting your work out into the wild to roam free in front of the eyes of others, but it can also be liberating. For me, there's always a tension between the two. Good job on this poem!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I think a lot of us share the shame dread. Well said. And you're definitely a writer.

  • Test2 months ago

    So powerful and deep!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.