Poets logo

Expecting Me

A poem to offer advice that you are the only source that you should lean on. Self-soothing saves you.

By SAYHERNAME Morgan SankofaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: Amy Sherald All Things Bright and Beautiful

After anxious attacks i couldn't fathom the

security of transparent trust

In this fifteenth to midnight, the pooched skin that

holds my breath wants fall again

its cresting clutch for a non-purchased, willing

black moon

The night light that butters me as i flutter intuitive

drippings careful and considerate

i am reminded that to be seen is a privilege

the words carved, smoothed, wrapped in silk

and imported shimmer

but the gift can be left unopened

Is it really a gift inside?

a message, an outstretched hand, a eye

locked for a snap

as my clocks enters this new day i can

remove my expectations

Back to my youth, melodies, therapy,

songstresses, loops of weaved hurt

such a creation, a quilt, just a stitch in my vast journey

just a peck after forgetting the tingle from a willing

hand.

If you enjoyed this check out my YouTube Channel Morgan Sankofa!!

I read my own poems, and honor poets from the past and modern day <3

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

SAYHERNAME Morgan Sankofa

Say Her Name

https://www.aapf.org/sayhername

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.