Poets logo

Expat loneliness

Young man starting life

By Gonçalo PizarroPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Expat loneliness
Photo by Jéan Béller on Unsplash

In the vastness of this distant place, my being is entwined in solitude,

Absent from those who are bonds of affection, pillars of my heart.

On unknown soil, enveloped in silence, longing is the song,

Echoing memories, every laugh, every hug, in my loneliness.

Far from family and friends, in a country that is still unraveling,

I walk along uncertain roads, in search of a new path.

In the distance, an ocean separating me from the deepest essence,

I feel small, as if the world is wrapping me in a sling.

On every street, on every corner, I long for a familiar face,

An echo of voice, a familiar gesture to comfort me.

But in solitude, I learn the weight of space and time passing,

And in absence, I discover strengths that I didn't even know how to carry.

New landscapes, unknown faces, challenge my reason,

But longing is a bridge, not a wall, strengthening the connection.

For physical distance does not fade the love of the heart,

And hope is a lighthouse, a guide in the darkness of this loneliness.

So in this foreign land, I build a new story,

With memory as a foundation, I build bridges of light and memory.

Loneliness, although present, is just a transitory page,

For the bond with those I love transcends, is eternal, is my glory.

And waiting for the reunion, I keep affections like treasures,

Each memory, a breath of encouragement, a hug in the most sincere praise.

For, in the unknown country or in the land of loves,

Connection with mine is my refuge, they are my best passions.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Gonçalo Pizarro is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.